Mohammed VI International Polo Trophy: Morocco Dominates Egypt 4-1 During Third Edition

The national team (B), represented by the Nakhil Club, got the best, Tuesday in Tangier, on the team of Egypt 4-1 in a match played as part of the 3rd edition of the International Trophy Mohammed VI Polo, which takes place from June 9 to 15 in Rabat, El Mansouria, Tangier and Assilah.

Organized by the Royal Guard, under the High Patronage of HM King Mohammed VI, Supreme Leader and Chief of Staff of the Royal Armed Forces, the competition began with a victory of the Moroccan team (A) against its Nigerian counterpart 9-6, in a match played Monday in Rabat.

Commenting on the result of this Tuesday, Yassine Kadiri, player of the Moroccan team, said he was “proud” to have won this match against an “experienced Egyptian team and having players of great quality”, expressing the wish to be able to “go forward in this momentum of victory”.

The president of the Polo Club of Larache-Assilah, Patrick Guerrand-Hermès recalled, in a statement to MAP, that Tangier “is the first city in the world, outside of India, where there was polo,” which reflects how “is very rooted love of the horse in this country.

This former president of the International Polo Federation said he aims to “normalize polo in Morocco so that this discipline can return to the Olympic Games.
For his part, the President of the Egyptian Polo Federation, Mohamed El Shamy, whose team participates for the second time in Morocco, after the 2006 edition, said that Morocco has a “very strong” team that will be difficult to beat.

Held under the auspices of the Royal Moroccan Polo Federation, the 2019 edition brings together teams representing France, Portugal, Nigeria, Egypt and Morocco, which participates with two teams; the national team (A) represented by the Royal Guard and the national team (B) represented by the Club Nakhil.

The teams participating in this international sporting event have been divided into two groups, the first comprising Morocco (A), Nigeria and France, while the second is composed of the national team (B), Portugal and Egypt.

The polo games are played in several rounds (from 4 to 8), each lasting 7.5 minutes, with 3-minute breaks for players to change horses.